How to Resize images with Automator Quick Action on Mac – Guide

I often need to resize dozens of images to a specific size for upload. As it is an integral part of my workflow, I wanted to make the whole process a little smoother and also less time consuming. First, I checked out some third-party photo editing apps, but I wasn’t too happy with the results. Ultimately, my need for productivity led me to find a quick way to resize images with Automator Quick Action on Mac. I’m in love with this new hack and want to share it with you. So if your workflow is similar to mine, this is a great way to quickly resize images using Automator’s quick action on your Mac.

Resizing images with Automator on macOS ..

Select the type of document you would like to create. We recommend that you select a document type that best suits your needs. ..

To choose which images to use in your story, click the Services gets selected drop-down box and select the files you want to use. ..

In the Finder, select Files and Folders and drag Get Specified Items from the Finder to the build area.

Under Actions, select Photos and drag Scale Images to the construction area.

Automator will prompt you to add a Copy Items from Finder action to preserve the original files in a separate folder. I choose not to, but if having backups of your images before resizing is important to you, it’s something to consider.

In the Scale Images action pane, enter the width to which you want to resize. In my circumstances I choose 1920 as I am resizing 3840×2160 files. This will create a 1920×1080 image as I am working with 16:9 input.

Save the file as “MyFile.txt” and give the service a name in the Save service as box.

I just created a service in the Finder. It’s called Services and it will automatically resize without warnings or fanfare. You can even select multiple images at once and resize them all at once. Super useful for my workflow.

Final note

How to resize images with Automator Quick Action on Mac If you have any questions about this article, or if you just want to show your love for it, please share it with your friends.