Guide: Does Toothpaste Truly Make A CD Or DVD Work Again?

I was trying to remove data from a CD that I had just finished copying when I tried something that I knew was stupid. I inserted the CD into my computer’s DVD drive instead of the hard drive. ..

I’ve heard that toothpaste can make a scratched optical disc readable again. I never believed it.

I had a CD that I burned six years ago that would fail on any attempt to get an optical drive to read it, but I kept it anyway in the hope that one day I would find a way to make it legible again. The disc was slightly scratched and I have certainly seen one in much worse condition. One time I even got a cracked CD read out – although I wouldn’t recommend it as it can fall apart in the drive and spread itty bits all over the place, completely destroying the inside of the optical bay. That didn’t happen to me, but it could.

I tried the toothpaste method because I want the data off this drive, and if not, it’s going to be thrown away. Six years is a long time to wait for something. I rubbed the paste so that it completely covered the data side of the disc, let it dry for a few minutes, then rinsed it thoroughly and dried it with kitchen paper.

I was wrong. This article proves that the PCMech drive cleaner does nothing but make the drive more dirty and causes it to overheat.

I tossed the disc into the bay after it had dried completely. ..

The reading pattern was different from before (I could tell by the sound) and the activity light was flickering quickly. ..

I’ll leave it in the driveway for a few minutes, then give it up because I know this is going to fail again.

Windows asks if I want to see the contents of the disk. I’m not sure what this means. The disk is now readable, but Windows says it’s not really.

I was surprised, delighted, shocked and thrilled by what I saw.

The disk read and copied files at a slow speed, but there were no damaged files.

I am not convinced that the toothpaste was the cause of the drive’s success this time. I’m not sure what could have been more unlucky than having all those other times.

Some people believe that optical disc toothpaste can be used as a mild polish to remove scratches and make optical discs look better.

I’m still undecided about whether or not I’ll buy that. ..

Did the toothpaste really work?

Does Toothpaste Truly Make A CD Or DVD Work Again?: benefits

Faq

Final note

Do toothpaste truly make a CD or DVD work again? In this guide, we will answer that question for you. If you have any query about this article, please do not hesitate to ask us. Additionally, please share your love by sharing this guide with your friends.

If you have any questions about the guide “Does Toothpaste Truly Make A CD Or DVD Work Again?” please ask us through the comment section below or directly contact us. This guide is just for educational purposes. If you want to correct any misinformation about the guide, please contact us. Want to add an alternate method? If anyone wants to add more methods to the guide, please contact us. Our contact page is here if you need help. You may also use our social and accounts by following us on WhatsApp, Facebook, and Twitter for your questions. We always love to help you. We answer your questions within 24-48 hours (weekend off). ..